in ,

Covid – 19: Abuja, 6 Others on Red Alert

The Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 (PSC), has put six States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on red alert following the confirmation of the Delta Variant of COVID-19 and the rising number of
infections and hospitalization in the country.

The States are: Lagos, Oyo,
Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau and the FCT.

Chairman of the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 and Secretary to the Government of the Federation Boss Mustapha in a statement however, warns that all States of the Federation should heighten their preparedness and continue to enforce all protocols put in place, given the ease of spread of the Delta variant.

To minimize the risk of importation of Variants of Concern into the country, the PSC has also ordered increased Surveillance at all Points of Entry into the country as part of preventive measures against a third wave of the Covid-19 pandemic.

This includes enforcing quarantine
protocols and sustaining the current restrictive measures against travelers arriving from India, Brazil, Turkey and South Africa.

On the forthcoming Eid-el-Kabir celebration, the PSC urges all State Governments and Religious Leaders to decentralize Eid Prayers to neighborhood Friday Prayer Mosques which must be outdoor, suspend all Durbar activities; and observe all Covid-19 protocols especially for indoor gatherings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FCT: El-adha prayers can now hold at the National Eid ground – FCT Minister

Eid-El Kabir: Kaduna Christians And Muslims Demonstrate Unity And Love